ANUGA - Present Applications and Future Potential, 16-17 September 2008 at Geoscience Australia

ANUGA is a Free and Open Source Software implementation of the Shallow Water Wave equations which has been developed by Geoscience Australia (GA) and the Australian National University (ANU) since 2004 (see  ModSim 2005 proceedings). The software can be downloaded online at  http://sourceforge.net/projects/anuga. ANUGA has primarily been used for tsunami inundation modelling (see e.g.  AusGeoNews 2006), due to the worldwide interest in tsunamis triggered by the events of Boxing Day 2004. Presently, there is an increasing interest in developing ANUGA into a tool for flood modelling, dam break studies and modelling of coastal processes (see e.g.  Rigby).

Workshop objectives

  • Bringing the user community closer together
  • Sharing different case studies where ANUGA is being used to model hydrodynamic systems
  • Discussing and making prioritised recommendations for the future development of ANUGA.
  • Form the ANUGA Special Interest Group (ASIG):  https://anuga.anu.edu.au/wiki/AsigMeetings

Workshop outcomes

 Minutes and identified priorities

Dinner Tuesday night

An informal dinner is planned for any interested people on the Tuesday night following Day 1 of the workshop (at own cost). Venue is to be confirmed, but will most likely be the Kingston Pub (fairly close to the suggested hotels).

Invitation

 Workshop invitation.

Please note, registration for this workshop has now closed.

Programme

 Final programme.

Venue

Geoscience Australia ( Google Earth)
Cnr Jerrabomberra Avenue & Hindmarsh Drive
Symonston ACT 2601
Switch Board: (02) 6249 9111 Coordinates for GA’s visitor carpark: -35.342927° 149.157996°

Accommodation

A selection of accomodation options close to Geoscience Australia include:

  • Best Western Garden City Motel ( Google Earth), Jerrabomberra Avenue, Narrabundah, (02) 6295 3322.
  • Hotel Heritage ( Google Earth), 203 Goyder Street, Narrabundah, 1800 026 346, (02) 6295 2944.
  • Best Western Sundown Motel ( Google Earth), Narrabundah Lane, Symonston, (02) 6239 0333.
  • Canberra South Motor Park ( Google Earth), Canberra Avenue Symonston ACT, (02) 6280 6176.

Chair

  • Miriam Middelmann (Miriam.Middelmann@…)

Presenters, Abstracts and Slides (where available)

Special pre workshop presentation

General

Tsunami

Flood

Participants

  • Nick Bartzis (nick.bartzis@…)
  • Frederic Saint-Cast (frederic.saint-cast@…)
  • James Walker(james.walker@…)
  • Jasvinder Opkar (jasvinder.opkar@…)
  • Ole Nielsen (ole.nielsen@…)
  • Stephen Roberts (stephen.roberts@…)
  • Nils Goseberg (goseberg@…)
  • William Power (w.power@…)
  • Biljana Lukovic (b.lukovic@…)
  • Jane Sexton (jane.sexton@…)
  • Rudy van Drie (rudy.vandrie@…)
  • Ted Rigby (ted.rigby@…)
  • Geoff O'Loughlin (geoff.oloughlin@…)
  • Trevor Dhu (trevor.dhu@…)
  • Russell Blong (russell.blong@…)
  • Brad Weir (brad.weir@…)
  • Ainslie Frazer (Ainslie.Frazer@…)
  • Ross Wilson (ross.wilson@…)
  • John Murtagh (john.murtagh@…)
  • Sudi Mungkasi (u4435754@…)
  • Rhys Hardwick Jones (rhys@…)
  • Garry Tong (garry.tong@…)
  • Petar Milevski (pmilevski@…
  • Craig Palmer (cpalmer@…)
  • Miriam Middelmann (miriam.middelmann@…)
  • Jim Cousins (j.cousins@…), Day 1 only
  • Leharne Fountain (leharne.fountain@…), Day 1 only
  • Duncan Gray (duncan.gray<at>ga.gov.au), Day 1 only
  • Kristy Van Putten (kristy.vanputten@…), Day 1 only
  • Jonathan Griffin (jonathan.griffin@…), Day 1 only
  • Richard Mleczko (richard.mleczko@…), Day 1 only
  • David Burbidge (david.burbidge@…), Day 1 only
  • Matthew Apolo (matthew.apolo@…), Day 2 only
  • Ian Dinham (idinham@…), Day 2 only
  • Soori Sooriyakumaran (s.sooriyakumaran@…), Day 2 only

Number of unique viewers since 1 July 2008

free hit counter
hit counter

Attachments