wiki:SecondAnugaMeeting

Version 76 (modified by miriam, 15 years ago) (diff)

--

ANUGA - Present Applications and Future Potential, 16-17 September 2008 at Geoscience Australia

ANUGA is a Free and Open Source Software implementation of the Shallow Water Wave equations which has been developed by Geoscience Australia (GA) and the Australian National University (ANU) since 2004 (see ModSim 2005 proceedings). The software can be downloaded online at http://sourceforge.net/projects/anuga. ANUGA has primarily been used for tsunami inundation modelling (see e.g. AusGeoNews 2006), due to the worldwide interest in tsunamis triggered by the events of Boxing Day 2004. Presently, there is an increasing interest in developing ANUGA into a tool for flood modelling, dam break studies and modelling of coastal processes (see e.g. Rigby).

Workshop objectives

  • Bringing the user community closer together
  • Sharing different case studies where ANUGA is being used to model hydrodynamic systems
  • Discussing and making prioritised recommendations for the future development of ANUGA.
  • Form the ANUGA Special Interest Group (ASIG): https://datamining.anu.edu.au/anuga/wiki/AsigMeetings

Invitation

Please see the workshop invitation for more information.

Program

Please see the draft program for more information.

Venue

Geoscience Australia (Google Earth)
Cnr Jerrabomberra Avenue & Hindmarsh Drive
Symonston ACT 2601
Coordinates for GA’s visitor carpark: -35.342927° 149.157996°

Accommodation

A selection of accomodation options close to Geoscience Australia include:

  • Best Western Garden City Motel, Jerrabomberra Avenue, Narrabundah, (02) 6295 3322.
  • Hotel Heritage (Google Earth), 203 Goyder Street, Narrabundah, 1800 026 346, (02) 6295 2944.
  • Best Western Sundown Motel, Narrabundah Lane, Symonston, (02) 6239 0333.
  • Canberra South Motor Park, Canberra Avenue Symonston ACT, (02) 6280 6176.

Chair and facilitator

  • Miriam Middelmann (Miriam.Middelmann@…)

Presenters and Presentations (updated regularly)

General

  • Ole Nielsen (Ole.Nielsen@…): Presenting ANUGA - An open source hydrodynamic modelling library.
  • Kristy van Putten (kristy.vanputten@…): Presenting "Preparing data for inundation modelling"
  • Stephen Roberts (Stephen.Roberts@…): Presenting 1) "Numerical challenges in ANUGA" and 2) "Parallelising ANUGA"
  • Leharne Fountain (Leharne.Fountain@…): Presenting "Numerical convergence of computational mesh in ANUGA: How fine is fine enough?"

Tsunami

Flood

Participants (updated regularly)

  • Nick Bartzis (nick.bartzis@…)
  • Duncan Gray (Duncan.Gray@…)
  • Kristy Van Putten (Kristy.vanputten@…)
  • Frederic Saint-Cast (frederic.saint-cast@…)
  • James Walker(James.walker@…)
  • Jasvinder Opkar (Jasvinder.Opkar@…)
  • Ole Nielsen (Ole.Nielsen@…)
  • Stephen Roberts (Stephen.Roberts@…)
  • Nils Goseberg (goseberg@…)
  • William Power (W.Power@…)
  • Biljana Lukovic (B.Lukovic@…)
  • Leharne Fountain (Leharne.Fountain@…)
  • Jane Sexton (jane.sexton@…)
  • Rudy van Drie (rudy.vandrie@…)
  • Ted Rigby (ted.rigby@…)
  • Geoff O'Loughlin (anstad@…)
  • Miriam Middelmann (Miriam.Middelmann@…)
  • Leharne Fountain (Leharne.Fountain@…), Day 1 only
  • Jonathan Griffin (johnathan.griffin@…), Day 1 only
  • Petar Milevski (pmilevski@…), Day 2 only
  • Matthew Apolo (Matthew.apolo@…), Day 2 only
  • Craig Palmer (cpalmer@…), Day 2 only

Number of unique viewers since 1 July 2008

free hit counter
hit counter

Attachments (32)